Shania Twain Becomes First Female To Receive ‘Artist Of A Lifetime’ Award

Shania Twain will receive the Artist of a Lifetime award at this year’s CMT Artists of the Year event.

Twain will be the first female to receive the prestigious “Artist of a Lifetime” award for her “indelible impact and achievements in country music,” according to PEOPLE. 

Previous recipients of the honor were Kenny Rogers and Merle Haggard.

Shania has also reportedly been back in the studio working on a new album.

This year’s CMT Artists of the year are Carrie Underwood, Chris Stapleton, Florida Georgia Line, Luke Bryan and Thomas Rhett.

These artists collectively dominated the last 12 months ruling CMT’s platforms and country radio, scoring chart-topping album and singles, and selling out arenas around the country.

Additionally, CMT will honor rising star Kelsea Ballerini with the second annual Artists of the Year “Breakout” Award. Additional performers, presenters, and special guests will be announced at a later date.

The special event will air on Oct. 20 at 9 p.m. ET.

More from Kat on KMPS

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

Listen Live